5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers

06:30:00 Jo Linsdell 5 Comments


5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers


Looking for some reading inspiration? This post is for you. I asked my book blogging friends on Twitter to share some of the books they gave 5 star reviews to. Here's some of the books they told me about with links to their reviews of the books so you can discover more about why they decided to rate them 5 star.

5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers 


5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers
@Independent_bk recommends Good Grief by Nick Gregorio


Read the book review at 


Tony D’Angelo’s brother Nate is dead. His family is devastated, his life is thrown into upheaval, and he doesn’t want to deal with any of it. Not with his brother’s death, not with his guilt-ridden father, and not with the consequences of his erratic behavior involving his ex-girlfriend. But when he meets Mikey, a hallucination of his nine-year-old self dressed as a Ninja Turtle, Tony is forced to face all the things he’d rather not.



5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers

Read the book review at 

An Amazon Charts Most Read and Most Sold book.
The harrowing true story of one man’s life in—and subsequent escape from—North Korea, one of the world’s most brutal totalitarian regimes.
Half-Korean, half-Japanese, Masaji Ishikawa has spent his whole life feeling like a man without a country. This feeling only deepened when his family moved from Japan to North Korea when Ishikawa was just thirteen years old, and unwittingly became members of the lowest social caste. His father, himself a Korean national, was lured to the new Communist country by promises of abundant work, education for his children, and a higher station in society. But the reality of their new life was far from utopian.
In this memoir translated from the original Japanese, Ishikawa candidly recounts his tumultuous upbringing and the brutal thirty-six years he spent living under a crushing totalitarian regime, as well as the challenges he faced repatriating to Japan after barely escaping North Korea with his life. A River in Darkness is not only a shocking portrait of life inside the country but a testament to the dignity—and indomitable nature—of the human spirit.

5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers


Read the book review at 


“Smart and funny, with characters so real and vulnerable, you want to send them care packages. I loved this book.” —Rainbow Rowell


From debut author Mary H.K. Choi comes a compulsively readable novel that shows young love in all its awkward glory—perfect for fans of Eleanor & Park and To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before.

For Penny Lee high school was a total nonevent. Her friends were okay, her grades were fine, and while she somehow managed to land a boyfriend, he doesn’t actually know anything about her. When Penny heads to college in Austin, Texas, to learn how to become a writer, it’s seventy-nine miles and a zillion light years away from everything she can’t wait to leave behind.

Sam’s stuck. Literally, figuratively, emotionally, financially. He works at a cafĂ© and sleeps there too, on a mattress on the floor of an empty storage room upstairs. He knows that this is the god-awful chapter of his life that will serve as inspiration for when he’s a famous movie director but right this second the seventeen bucks in his checking account and his dying laptop are really testing him. 

When Sam and Penny cross paths it’s less meet-cute and more a collision of unbearable awkwardness. Still, they swap numbers and stay in touch—via text—and soon become digitally inseparable, sharing their deepest anxieties and secret dreams without the humiliating weirdness of having to see each other.


5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers


Read the book review at 


Oscar Pellegrini is a talented fashion designer with a deadly enemy: his own critical mind. He destroys much of what he designs and has been drifting for years, gradually retreating from the fashion business he loves but holding on to his dreams of success. 


A chance meeting with a former girlfriend triggers a creative crisis so deep that Oscar escapes to Russia, where he drinks and despairs like never before. Just when he thinks he has lost everything he discovers a magical machine that turns ordinary outfits into irresistible sartorial triumphs. Oscar takes the machine back to Italy – and before he knows it, he has become famous for his designs, and celebrities and socialites are fighting to be first to wear his gorgeous garments.
But the happily-ever-after ending for the fashion messiah turns into a nightmare when his dresses acquire a life of their own, gaining energy and evil as time goes on. Haunted by his creations, a dark secret he is no longer able to hide, Oscar finds himself fighting for his life and sanity, and searching for the answer to a question he never knew existed. 

Is there such a thing as stolen genius, and if there is, can it turn against the very person who stole it?


5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers

Read the book review at 

The game is afoot as Charlotte Holmes returns in USA Today bestselling author Sherry Thomas’s Victorian-set Lady Sherlock series.

Being shunned by Society gives Charlotte Holmes the time and freedom to put her extraordinary powers of deduction to good use. As “Sherlock Holmes, consulting detective,” aided by the capable Mrs. Watson, she’s had great success helping with all manner of inquiries, but she’s not prepared for the new client who arrives at her Upper Baker Street office.
Lady Ingram, wife of Charlotte’s dear friend and benefactor, wants Sherlock Holmes to find her first love, who failed to show up at their annual rendezvous. Matters of loyalty and discretion aside, the case becomes even more personal for Charlotte as the missing man is none other than Myron Finch, her illegitimate half brother.
In the meanwhile, Charlotte wrestles with a surprising proposal of marriage, a mysterious stranger woos her sister Livia, and an unidentified body surfaces where least expected. Charlotte’s investigative prowess is challenged as never before: Can she find her brother in time—or will he, too, end up as a nameless corpse somewhere in the belly of London?

5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers

Read the book review at 
https://cafethinking.com/2018/07/05/watching-you-by-lisa-jewell-book-review/

You’re not the only one watching.



‘Page one intrigued me. Page three hooked me. By page five, I was consumed. This compulsive, propulsive novel is both a seize-you-by-the-throat thriller and a genuinely moving family drama.Stellar.’ – A.J. Finn, author of The Woman in the Window

You’re back home after four years working abroad, new husband in tow.
You’re keen to find a place of your own. But for now you’re crashing in your big brother’s spare room.
That’s when you meet the man next door.
He’s the head teacher at the local school. Twice your age. Extraordinarily attractive. You find yourself watching him.
All the time.
But you never dreamed that your innocent crush might become a deadly obsession.

Or that someone is watching you.


5 Star Reads: Books Recommended by Book Bloggers
@Chrikaru recommends The Storm Keeper’s Island by Catherine Doyle 

Read the book review at 
https://chrikarublog.wordpress.com/2018/07/05/book-review-the-storm-keepers-island/


When Fionn Boyle sets foot on Arranmore Island, it begins to stir beneath his feet ...

Once in a generation, Arranmore Island chooses a new Storm Keeper to wield its power and keep its magic safe from enemies. The time has come for Fionn's grandfather, a secretive and eccentric old man, to step down. Soon, a new Keeper will rise.

But, deep underground, someone has been waiting for Fionn. As the battle to become the island's next champion rages, a more sinister magic is waking up, intent on rekindling an ancient war.


What was your last 5 star read?



You might also like:






5 comments:

  1. Replies
    1. My pleasure. I love finding out about books that others loved. Always on the look out for reading recommendations ;)

      Delete
  2. Great post! Looks like some very interesting reads. :)

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks. I hadn't heard of all of these books before putting together this post so found out about some new books for my own TBR too. I really want to read Watching You by Lisa Jewell now.

      Delete
  3. Thank you for including me on here!! I’m so bad at checking my twitter consistently but I so appreciate you sharing my blog! ❤️❤️

    ReplyDelete

Blog Archive