INSTAGRAM FEED

@jolinsdell

Wednesday, 27 January 2021

Book Review: A Secondhand Lie by Pamela Crane

     

Book Review: A Secondhand Lie by Pamela Crane


My thoughts about A Secondhand Lie by Pamela Crane

This post may contain affiliate links. Meaning, I get a commission if you purchase through my links, at no cost to you. Read the full disclosure here.



Sometimes you know things you’re not supposed to know. Things that you can never un-know. Things that will change the course of your life…and the fate of the ones you love.

Book Review: A Secondhand Lie by Pamela Crane
I found her in our living room, bleeding and close to death, but alive. Barely. Until morning stole her last breath. The media called her killer the “Triangle Terror” … and then forgot about her. But I never forgot—my murdered sister, and an investigation that led to my own resurrection from the dead.

Twenty-two years ago, on a cold February night, Landon Worthington lost his father for the last time. After an armed robbery gone wrong, evidence and witness testimony pointed a shaky finger at Dan Worthington—deadbeat dad and alcoholic husband. But before the dust could settle over the conviction, Landon’s preteen sister, Alexis, is murdered in their home, plunging Landon’s life into further despair.

Two decades and a cold case later, Landon is dogged by guilt over their estranged relationship and decides to confront his incarcerated father-of-the-year about what really happened the night of the robbery. But the years of lies are hard to unravel. And the biggest question of all haunts him: How does everything tie into his sister’s murder?

And so begins Landon’s journey to piece together the puzzle of secrets, lies, and truths that can free his father, avenge his sister, and perhaps save himself.

A short mystery perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni's Third Watch and Dean Koontz's The Neighbor.

Read as a standalone or as the companion book to A Secondhand Life.


You might also like:  Book Review: The Art of Fear by Pamela Crane


Quotes from the book:


In the pregnant pause between my birth and death, life had become little more than a series of cruel jokes, and I was always the punch line.

What is there to live for if nothing and no one can be counted on?

Me, Landon Worthington—a man who survived without love my entire childhood—would come to know love with such intimacy even Shakespeare couldn’t find words to describe it.

Some people leave footprints that wash away from the ebb and flow of life, while others cement them as a permanent reminder that they touched you in some meaningful way.

It was a psychological game of Russian roulette, but unfortunately Derek wasn’t holding the gun. Fivehead was.

Doom circled above, like a vulture zeroing in on a carcass, delighting in its decay.

Eyes that had caused and relished violence watched me with malice. Hard faces crinkled with curiosity—and some, I shuddered to realize, with desire. I felt like an endangered species on display—vulnerable, ready to flee, and wanting never to return.

“Landon, grow a pair.” My “lack of a pair” had been up for debate throughout the entire meal of fresh bread and homemade stuffed ravioli as I tried explaining to her that overturning a twenty-two-year-old conviction against my father was easier said than done.

Once upon a time I trusted that all things happened for a reason. But that theory collapsed under the weight of pain. I’d lost so much, which was ironic because I had so little to begin with.






Are you a book blogger? Check out 101 Blog Post Ideas For Book Bloggers

No comments:
Write comments

Interested in my work and services?
Stay in touch