Book Review: Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard

     

Book Review Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard


My thoughts about Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard

Book Review


This post may contain affiliate links. Meaning, I get a commission if you purchase through my links, at no cost to you. Read the full disclosure here.

Disclosure: I got sent a free copy of this book by the publisher via Net Galley.




  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B09BZZT2VV
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Ruby Books 
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ October 1, 2021
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 346 pages

The book synopsis for Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard


Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard
Dime Sheppard delivers a smart and witty caper about a crime novelist who recruits her main characters to investigate her maybe-unfaithful fiancé.

Evie Howland has problems.
Guns. Bombs. Murderers.
And that's just on the page...

In real life she's meant to be planning a wedding to adorable billionaire Daniel Bradley, but Evie is seriously snarled in the sixteenth book of her successful crime series. In fact, her protagonists are becoming almost impossible to wrangle: NYPD detective Carolyn Harding is volatile after a messy divorce, and Detective Jay Ryan has that heated look in his blue eyes again. They're both sick of being written. And frankly they're getting a little...physical. Evie is beginning to wonder if she's ever going to finish Book Sixteen and get them back into fiction where they belong.

But when a disturbingly familiar homicide surfaces in the city papers, it seems as if other, darker characters might have crossed the fiction-frontier too. In which case, Evie is in a lot of real-life trouble.

If she's going to survive it, Evie must face her own worst fears, and learn that real love can be the best way of writing her own story.

But can she change the ending?


Full of high-octane adventure and dry humour, this novel is perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich's action-packed Stephanie Plum novels, or Mary Stewart's stylish romantic suspense.



You might also like: My 2022 Reading Challenges



Discussing Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard



Quotes from Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard


They say you should write from the heart. You know? Write what’s inside, write what’s true. But I’ve always thought that was kind of dumb. I mean, what do writers have in their hearts, really, except for a bunch of stuff they’ve imagined while sitting at a desk? If I wrote from the heart it would be about… Well, it wouldn’t be very interesting.

‘My personal life is not publicity,’ I say. ‘It’s a dinner party. Not a media event.’ ‘Any place full of the rich and influential is a media event.’

I look up and meet his eyes. Detective Jay Ryan. He’s tall and broad-shouldered, and all the things fictional heroes should be. He’s also sharp as a flick knife in a dark alley, with eyes like heat. He’s the reason my books do so well among my female demographic. He has this searing glance that can liquefy just about anyone, though generally he’s too focused and serious about his work to notice the effect he has on people. Women especially.

When I open the door I don’t need to look behind me to know that all traces of them are gone, like they were never there. But I do glance behind me—just to check—and let out a little sigh.

Daniel Bradley came into my life like a hot knife into butter. And I mean hot.

‘Evie is famous and successful enough. It’s the books that count.’ He winks at me. He knows he’s quoting my words back to me. ‘Sweetheart,’ Eileen shakes her head in kindly disagreement, ‘you owe it to writers everywhere to be as visible as possible. The written word is all but lost—lost!—as an art form.’

‘So you have writer’s b—?’ ‘Don’t say it! Don’t say the b-word. It’s not a medical condition, it’s not even a real thing. I’m just stuck, is all.’

I gulp for air. Okay. This is a possibility. A copycat. Someone who’s read my books and is acting out the horrors of my worst criminal mastermind. The idea of a real-world criminal doing psychopathic things partially calms my racing heart—about the third paragraph, at least. Eighth victim.

‘You can see them?’ My voice sounds like I spent the afternoon sipping strychnine (interesting way to go). ‘Yeah,’ she says uncertainly. ‘Should I? Oh, are they your…?’ ‘My characters, yes!’ I nod my head really hard, as if driving fictional people around in a car is something I often do. ‘I decided to, um…’

My writers’ group is not exactly a hub of social networking. It’s held in the library of a private college in New Rochelle, so it feels like it should be academic and stately, but there are only about fifteen of us, and our meetings tend to be such a mishmash of shyness and ineptitude that it’s more like a gathering of Dorks Anonymous. I actually like this. It makes me feel good about myself. And it gets me out of the house once a week.

‘Aye. Ye’ve begun living through theirs, instead of living your own. That’s a dangerous way to be for a writer.’ I stare at her with my mouth open. ‘Ye must keep writing your own story, dear,’ she says.

When I get there I close the door on him and lock it. Not my proudest moment. But I’ve never pretended to be brave. Writers are known for not being brave, in fact. We hide away in our rooms and we live our lives through other people. Through our characters. And that’s fine by me.



Where to find Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard online:




Book Review Crime Writer by Dime Sheppard






Are you a book blogger? Check out 101 Blog Post Ideas For Book Bloggers

If you'd like to support me, donating goes a long way to helping with the running of this blog. Thanks for your support 💗

Donate now

0 comments