Reading Regrets 2018 Tag

07:00:00 Jo Linsdell 20 Comments


Reading Regrets 2018 Tag


Reading Regrets 2018 Tag


365 days just isn't enough. There are so many books out there that I want to read and just not enough time to read them all. I had a lot of books on my TBR list for 2018, and I read some awesome books throughout the year. There are still some sat on my TBR that I didn't get round to though. This video is for them.

 

Books mentioned:


Reading Regrets 2018 Tag

Sherlock Holmes meets The X-Files in this acclaimed paranormal mystery series from the author of the Fourth Element Trilogy

It's August 1888, just three weeks before Jack the Ripper will terrorize Whitechapel, and another murderer is stalking the streets of New York. His handiwork bears the hallmarks of a demonic possession—but amateur sleuth Harrison Fearing Pell is certain her quarry is a man of flesh and blood. And she hopes to make her reputation by solving the bizarre case before the man the press has dubbed Mr. Hyde strikes again.

From the squalor of the Five Points to the high-class gambling dens of the Tenderloin and the glittering mansions of Fifth Avenue, Harry follows the trail of a remorseless killer, uncovering a few embarrassing secrets of New York's richest High Society families along the way. Are the murders a case of black magic—or simple blackmail? And will the trail lead closer to home than she ever imagined?

Reading Regrets 2018 Tag

Dr Elizabeth Pimms has a new puzzle.
What is the story behind the tiny skeletons discovered on a Guatemalan island? And how do they relate to an ancient Mayan queen?
The bones, along with other remains, are a gift for Elizabeth. But soon the giver reveals his true nature. An enraged colleague then questions Elizabeth’s family history. Elizabeth seeks DNA evidence to put all skeletons to rest.
A pregnant enemy, a crystal skull, a New York foodie, and an intruder in Elizabeth’s phrenic library variously aid or interrupt Elizabeth’s attempts to solve mysteries both ancient and personal.
With archaeological intrigue, forensic insight and cosy comfort, Mayan Mendacity takes readers back into the world of Dr Pimms, Intermillennial Sleuth. Really cold cases.


Reading Regrets 2018 Tag

When literature student Anastasia Steele goes to interview young entrepreneur Christian Grey, she encounters a man who is beautiful, brilliant, and intimidating. The unworldly, innocent Ana is startled to realize she wants this man and, despite his enigmatic reserve, finds she is desperate to get close to him. Unable to resist Ana’s quiet beauty, wit, and independent spirit, Grey admits he wants her, too—but on his own terms.
 
Shocked yet thrilled by Grey’s singular erotic tastes, Ana hesitates. For all the trappings of success—his multinational businesses, his vast wealth, his loving family—Grey is a man tormented by demons and consumed by the need to control. When the couple embarks on a daring, passionately physical affair, Ana discovers Christian Grey’s secrets and explores her own dark desires.

This book is intended for mature audiences.

Reading Regrets 2018 Tag

They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . .

Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is.

Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living.

A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our StarsMe Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?

Reading Regrets 2018 Tag

THE UNMISSABLE SEQUEL TO ME BEFORE YOU

'Matches Me Before You. Funny, sad and wise, you'll be using a hankie as a bookmark' Mail on Sunday

Lou Clark has lots of questions.
Like how it is she's ended up working in an airport bar, spending every shift watching other people jet off to new places.
Or why the flat she's owned for a year still doesn't feel like home.
Whether her close-knit family can forgive her for what she did eighteen months ago.
And will she ever get over the love of her life.
What Lou does know for certain is that something has to change.
Then, one night, it does.
But does the stranger on her doorstep hold the answers Lou is searching for - or just more questions?
Close the door and life continues: simple, ordered, safe.
Open it and she risks everything.
But Lou once made a promise to live. And if she's going to keep it, she has to invite them in . . .

So, what books were on your TBR for 2018 that you regret not reading? 

You might also like:






20 comments:

  1. I don’t think all the books I haven’t had time to read but really ,really can’t wait to read would fit in the comments.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. If I'd listed all the books on my TBR I haven't gotten round to yet this would have been a VERY long post ;)

      Delete
  2. I may have over 400 - I'm greedy...

    ReplyDelete
  3. Replies
    1. So true. It's so easy for our TBR lists to get out of control. I definitely need more time to get through mine.

      Delete
  4. There are so so many. Hopefully, I will get to more of them in 2019!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Here's hoping 2019 is a good reading year for us all

      Delete
  5. Omg that Mayan Mendacity cover!! 😭 I've read Me Before You and have no plan on reading After You because I think it should already end that way in MBY.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I love the cover of Mayan Mendacity too :) Now I?m even more curious to read Me Before You.

      Delete
  6. I think my list is as long as you’ve indicated in the comments. 😂 I’ve only read Fifty Shades out of these.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It would be impossible to list my whole TBR list in a blog post 😂 which is why I decided to keep it to give a few of the big ones I wanted to read this year.

      Delete
  7. I am definitely off the tear jerkers of JoJo at least until the new year.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I've not read any Jojo Moyes yet but this series just really caught my attention for some reason.

      Delete
  8. I just updated my review TBR with Google Sheets. I have done a thorough job, but this doesn’t include my personal TBR.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You sound very organised Robin. I want to get better at logging all my books.

      Delete
  9. 50 Shades is a terrible awful book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. My real reason for wanting to read it is that I read The Best Seller Code and now I'm curious to read Fifty Shades of Grey to see if what they said in the book is true. I basically want to pull 50 shades apart as I read it to test their theories.

      Delete
  10. I read Fifty Shades of Grey and actually really loved the love story in there (yes, this sounds crazy, I know!) To me, it was like Beauty and the Beast - she kind-of pulls him out of this lifestyle and shows him that there's more to life (like love!). I liked it.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The feedback about Fifty Shades of Grey has been so mixed right from day 1. I love Beauty and the Beast so maybe I'll enjoy it. I didn't read it when it was first released as it was so over hyped. All the comments about it being an abusive relationship were a turn off too but I have to say I'm still curious about it.

      Delete

Blog Archive