INSTAGRAM FEED

@jolinsdell

Wednesday, 3 April 2019

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes

Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes


Why I Loved Me Before You by Jojo Moyes




Book Review: Me Before You by Jojo Moyes
They had nothing in common until love gave them everything to lose . . . Louisa Clark is an ordinary girl living an exceedingly ordinary life—steady boyfriend, close family—who has barely been farther afield than their tiny village. She takes a badly needed job working for ex–Master of the Universe Will Traynor, who is wheelchair bound after an accident. Will has always lived a huge life—big deals, extreme sports, worldwide travel—and now he’s pretty sure he cannot live the way he is. Will is acerbic, moody, bossy—but Lou refuses to treat him with kid gloves, and soon his happiness means more to her than she expected. When she learns that Will has shocking plans of his own, she sets out to show him that life is still worth living. A Love Story for this generation and perfect for fans of John Green’s The Fault in Our Stars, Me Before You brings to life two people who couldn’t have less in common—a heartbreakingly romantic novel that asks, What do you do when making the person you love happy also means breaking your own heart?






Some of My Favourite Quotes:

“You only get one life. It's actually your duty to live it as fully as possible.”

“Some mistakes... Just have greater consequences than others. But you don't have to let the result of one mistake be the thing that defines you. You, Clark, have the choice not to let that happen.”

“I will never, ever regret the things I've done. Because most days, all you have are places in your memory that you can go to.”

“You are scored on my heart,Clark. You were from the first day you walked in,with your ridiculous clothes and your complete inability to ever hide a single thing you felt.” 

“The thing about being catapulted into a whole new life--or at least, shoved up so hard against someone else's life that you might as well have your face pressed against their window--is that it forces you to rethink your idea of who you are. Or how you might seem to other people.”




Are you a book blogger? Join the Bookish Blog Hops group on Facebook to connect with other book bloggers. A great community offering support and events to help you grow traffic to your book blog and generate more brand awareness.


10 comments:
Write comments
  1. I'm so jelly, Netgallery wouldn't give me one

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. They didn't give me one either when I requested it. I got the 2nd book in the series 'After You' super cheap in a charity store when I went over to the UK for a visit. I wanted to read them in order though and so ordered 'Me Before You' from Book Depository. I ordered the 3rd book 'Still Me' from them too so I have the complete set.

      Delete
  2. I still really need to read this!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. It's an amazing book. Make sure you have a box of tissues handy though whilst reading it. It has all the feels!

      Delete
  3. Great review. I only caught the last 20 minutes of the film a couple of weeks ago. I've never seen it in full and I haven't read the book.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Read the book first. It's SOooooo much better. This was one of those rare cases where I caught the film on TV just days after finishing reading the book. The film potentially would have been better if I hadn't seen it so close to reading the book as I was still in book hangover mode. The book is one that stays with you too.

      Delete
  4. Great review! I've read the book, but haven't watched the movie.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The movie was OK, the book was amazing. What did you think?

      Delete
  5. I have heard mixed reviews on the movie but have heard the book is good. Great review!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah, the movie was ok. The book was amazing. I'll be doing a book vs movie blog post soon 😉

      Delete

Interested in my work and services?
Stay in touch