Join the monthly newsletter

Book Review: Nina is NOT OK by Shappi Khorsandi

Nina is NOT OK by Shappi Khorsandi


Today I'm sharing my review for Nina is NOT OK by Shappi Khorsandi. This book was awesome. You need to read it!

About the book:

Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn’t? 
Nina’s mum isn’t so sure. But she’s busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina’s almost an adult after all. 
And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before , then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina’s drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.
But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can’t help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her…
A dark and sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK’s leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Louise O'Neill.

Watch the video for my review:


Buy your copy at http://amzn.to/2mHxjI5

CampNaNoWriMo and How To Beat Writer's Block

#CampNaNoWriMo and How To Beat Writer's Block


CampNaNoWrimo is just around the corner! I'm excited about taking part in the challenge again this April. 

My Goal for Camp


I'm going to be using CampNaNoWriMo to finish writing the KOSMOS series. This means I'll be writing six books in April. 

For more info about how I'm preparing for the challenge watch the video below:



Writer's Block and Getting Motivated


I go into this in more detail in the video but for those of you that don't have time to watch it right now, here's a quick summary of how to beat the block and get motivated to write:

- Just write
- Do word Sprints
- Take part in a Twitterchat for writers
- Do something completely different

Are you taking part in CampNaNoWriMo this April? 
What's your goal for the month?
How do you beat the block and stay motivated?

Book Review: Three Blonde Mice by Jane Heller

Book Review: Three Blonde Mice by Jane Heller


Today I'm sharing my review for Three Blonde Mice by Jane Heller. 

About the book:

In bestselling author Jane Heller’s wild and hilarious mystery, three friends go on a cooking excursion with a famous chef, only to discover one of their classmates is very keen on practicing knife technique.
Elaine Zimmerman and her best friends Jackie Gault and Pat Kovecky venture to a farm in Litchfield, Connecticut. It’s been over a year since their last trip together, a Caribbean cruise aboard the Princess Charming, and after dealing with a murderous ex and his hit man, they’re yearning for a no-drama vacation this time. During their Cultivate Our Bounty Week, they and eight other guests will learn how to cook farm-to-table meals with Whitley’s artisan-in-residence, a renowned TV/restaurant chef named Jason Hill. Elaine, the jaded, neurotic narrator, is less than thrilled—especially because the program wasn’t supposed to include a surprise appearance by her former boyfriend Simon, who’s still the love of her life but can’t commit to her. What’s more, after milking a cow and making cheese, she stumbles on evidence that one of her fellow agritourists is out to murder Chef Hill at the resort’s Bounty Fest finale. 
Is the killer among the freakishly fit Manhattan couple who takes their devotion to organic, hormone-free, non-GMO food to the point of obsession? The grandmother from Wisconsin who’s a groupie of the celebrity chef and follows him to every event? The mother and son from Palm Beach who bicker over whether he should give up his law practice to open his own restaurant? Three Blonde Mice serves up a crackling romance between Elaine and Simon, a twisty whodunit involving a screwball cast of suspects and a satire of current food fads and the farm-to-table chefs who perpetuate them.

Watch the video for my full review:


Buy your copy at http://amzn.to/2l8nDcZ

Blog Archive