Join the monthly newsletter

Book Review: Crazy Little Thing Called Love by Charlotte Butterfield


Book Review: Crazy Little Thing Called Love by Charlotte Butterfield



A wonderfully warm-hearted and laugh-out-loud funny romantic comedy for fans of Just Haven’t Met You Yet and Mhairi McFarlane. When Leila finds herself on the painful end of yet another disastrous break-up, no amount of Ben & Jerry’s and trashy rom-coms can cheer her up. And so – to the amusement of her friends and family – Leila takes a more drastic approach to dealing with heartbreak: she swears off sex for an entire year. Luckily, she has plenty to keep her mind off men. Between starting a business with ice queen Lucy, straightening out her sister Tasha’s tangled love life, and running a blog read by thousands of single ladies, Leila is soon snowed under. But she can’t help finding a little time for irresistible architect Nick – Lucy’s funny and infuriatingly sexy brother. After an unplanned encounter under the mistletoe, the Man Ban looks like it might be skidding to a halt. Has Leila found love when she least expected it?





Ready for the Mega Tour?


Ready for the Mega Tour? Promotional VBT coming soon, want to be a host?

I'm planning a virtual book tour for the month of December (and maybe January too of I can find enough hosts). This one will be a bit different from past VBTs though. I'm touring all my books. Yep, all of them at the same time. I'll be promoting my premade book covers, Promo Day event, and my Writers and Authors blog too.

I'm in the process of putting together the biggest, most complete media kit I've ever created. This mega media kit will then be uploaded to Google drive so that hosts can easily pull the info they want to use in posts.

This tour is not just for blogs. There's a load of pre-written social media posts and click to tweets to use on social media too. Newsletters are also welcome. Of course, there will also be a huge amount of graphics to use with posts too.

Hosts can choose to feature just one book, or a selection of books. Or they can do an author feature instead. I'll be putting in lots of general author info and a Q&A sheet to pick and choose from for interviews too.

There will be some video content as well that can be embedded into posts if you fancy going multimedia ;) I may even throw in some infographics and guest posts if I have time.

E-copies of all books are available for reviewing too. Just drop me an email if you'd like to review.

A linky will be up on my website where hosts can submit the links to their posts during the tour. I will of course, be promoting all of them during, and after the tour.

Obviously I'd like to have as many hosts as possible, so if you can squeeze me in somewhere I'd really appreciate it.

I'll be doing another blog post once everything is ready to share the link to the mega media kit. Today's post is just a heads up ;)

Next step, World domination!

Ready for the Mega Tour? Promotional VBT coming soon, want to be a host?




3 Ways You Can Back Up Your Work


3 Ways You Can Back Up Your Work

That time I almost lost all my work


When my Mac Book Pro stopped working earlier this year I went into panic mode. I hadn't backed up all my files. I had first drafts of novels, premade book cover designs, and more... that were potential lost. Yes I did cry a little.

Anyway, I finally got it fixed, and the first thing I did when I got it back was back up all the files. Words can not express how happy I was at finding all those files still there. Unfortunately, the problem came back again quite quickly and so it's back at the repair shop again. I should comment at this point that my Mac Book Pro is a model from a few years ago (2013 I think), which they aren't producing anymore due to this problem. This however also makes it harder to find the pieces needed to repair it. Hopefully the newer versions all work fine.

As a side note, I really do miss my Mac though. Well, if I'm honest, I really miss the programs I had installed on it. My trusty old HP Pavilion laptop is always there for me though, and I do have most of the programs on that too (just older versions). 


Lesson learnt: My favourite back up tools


Needless to say, it's a good idea to regularly back up your files. As this is such an important topic, I thought I'd take you through a few of the ways I back up my files.

External Hard Drive

This is my preferred way to back up my files. I just plug in the USB and select the files I want to save from my computer. When I need them on another device I just plug the USB into that and transfer the files over. 

I have several external hard drives that I use to back up my files. The biggest is the Verbatim 1 TB http://amzn.to/2znMqOi. It's a bulky model but does the job. I've never had any problems with it. This is the one I use for all my bigger projects.

Then I have a My Passport Ultra external hard drive http://amzn.to/2zoGAOD. This is much smaller and so easier to move around. Again, works great, and I've never had any problems with it. 

Online Back up

I have several accounts for saving files online. Google Drive is the one I use most. One Drive and Drop Box are next on the list. This particular method of backing up files is really useful if you need to send the file to other people as you can get a shareable link, and give permission to view, and even edit the file to selected people. 

There are free and paid options available for both Google Drive, One Drive, and Drop Box (and the many other types out there). 

Email

This one is often overlooked, but beautifully simple. Just email yourself a copy of the file as an attachment. You'll then have a copy sitting ready for you in your inbox. 

BONUS!

Surprise! Now I'm going to tell you about a bonus way to back up, that can be super useful for writers: Amazon's Free Kindle Reading App. This has saved me more than once. When I finish writing the first draft of a book I always send a copy of the file to my Kindle Reading App on my ipad. It really helps during the revising and editing stages as my brain goes into 'book reading mode', and so I find errors that I might have missed reading it on my laptop. 

It is just a reading app and so you won't be able to edit the file from the app, but it does give you another copy. Once I wrote a big chunk of a non fiction book, and sent a copy to my Kindle App. Due to a problem with my computer, I lost the original file. Luckily I'd sent the file to the App and so managed to write up another one quickly. Not the best way to back up, but definitely a useful, extra layer to your safety net.



Now go back up your work. Trust me. You'll be glad you did.


3 Ways You Can Back Up Your Work



Blog Archive